Read full article here

RRW Cover 2

One of California’s most prolific songwriters, Robert Rex Waller Jr. (of I See Hawks) is releasing a solo album of covers, Fancy Free, due on July 1st.

A bold undertaking, Fancy Free finds Waller’s rich, emotive baritone breathing life into a variety of songs from some quite unexpected artists. The thirteen track collection will instantly have your ear with the beautifully done, moving rendition of “Walking Through Your Town In The Snow” and will continue to keep your ears at attention through the sublime “Albuquerque,” the stunning “Fancy Free” (originally an Oak Ridge Boys’ tune) and violin-laden “Don’t Pay ‘Em No Mind” (Nina Simone). In between are the rockin’ (Dylan’s “She Belongs to Me),” the heavenly (“Amazing Grace”) and the 70’s feel of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Your Grievances” as well as a scaled back, piano-centered rendition of The Kinks “Waterloo Sunset,” and a traditional take on “Me and Paul” before closing out with a delightful big bass on “Night Owl.”

The songs on Fancy Free will be a joy to discover if you are hearing them for the very first time…and if you are aware of the originals, you’ll take pleasure in listening to them being delivered in wonderfully fresh ways.